Drawing to See

My Grandfather was an artist. He loved nothing more than getting up early in the morning and hauling his paints and easel up into the mountains to paint an old barn when the light hit it just so. And as a young artist, I loved nothing more than to tag along.

We’d set up in a old field somewhere, Grandpa with his paints and I with my sketchpad, and spend the morning quietly painting and drawing. At some point, Grandpa would push his stool back from his easel, stand up, stretch a bit, then ask to see what I’d been working on.

The impromptu art lessons that resulted were among the best I ever received. You see, grandpa had a way of reducing complex visual concepts to a few well-chosen words. One lesson has stayed with me all these years:

Don’t draw what you think you see; draw what you see.

What followed was even better:

Art is nothing more than learning to see.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but that one statement set the stage for much of my personal and professional life ever since. But I had finished college before I realized what I had been given.

That’s when I ran across a book by William Zinsser called Writing to Learn. My employer had directed me to read Zinsser’s classic On Writing Well and I enjoyed it so thoroughly that, at its conclusion, I found myself wandering through bookstores looking for something else Zinsser had written.

In Writing to Learn, Zinsser contends that writing is the best way to immerse oneself in a field of knowledge and to make it one’s own.

You see, when you write about something, you have to organize your thinking. You are forced to investigate the subject more thoroughly than necessary for mere recitation on a test. You must be able to grasp it, its relation to other subjects, its subtleties, its nuances.

You have to know it.

When you draw something, one have to organize your perceptions. You must go beyond mere shape and shading to really see the subject, to understand its relationship to its surroundings, to capture the subtleties of light and shadow, the nuances of texture.

You have to see it.

So now I write to help me learn. And I draw so that I can see.

5 Responses to “Drawing to See”


  1. 1 Alicia Browne November 26, 2008 at 4:38 am

    this is full of too much awesome-ness. =)

  2. 2 Jaylin Rogers November 26, 2008 at 5:05 am

    I love reading (and hearing) your stories! You are such a natural. Did you ever find anymore books by that guy? J

  3. 3 Stephen Caruso November 26, 2008 at 7:10 am

    some quotes on art-
    Not everybody trusts paintings but people believe photographs.
    Ansel Adams

    If we could but paint with the hand what we see with the eye.
    Honore de Balzac
    The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance.
    Aristotle
    Every song is like a painting.
    Dick Dale
    Art is a collaboration between God and the artist, and the less the artist does the better.
    Andre Gide
    I don’t paint things. I only paint the difference between things.
    Henri Matisse
    Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.
    Thomas Merton

  4. 4 David November 27, 2008 at 8:37 am

    More like this.

  5. 5 Annemieke October 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Dear Roger, thanks for sharing this wonderful, personal story with us, and these insights. I love all of it.


Leave a comment




Other Great Writers

Please Note

All responses to this blog are moderated. That means the system sends them to me to read and approve before they are posted. I only disapprove comments that are abusive or use inappropriate language. It also means your response won't be posted until I check my e-mail.
RSS
Add to Technorati Favorites